The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Clunking from rear while accelerating... (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=38635)

OrIoN 04-24-2007 08:35 PM

Clunking from rear while accelerating...

I'm guessing it's the rear diff. However, I haven't learned how the AWD functions yet. My background is with Quattro, this is my first Subaru...

So, if it's the rear diff., I need to be pointed in the direction of a cost effective replacement possibly re-man used or good used part...

Hocrest 04-24-2007 08:51 PM

It could be a bad bushing on the rear diff, or transmission. It could also be a bad driveshaft or center carrier.

Can we get a better description of the noise and when it happens??

If it is the diff, I have one for sale, send me a PM.

Nomake Wan 04-24-2007 08:51 PM

Try putting the fuse into the FWD slot in the fuse box under the hood and see if that solves the "clunking from the rear" problem. If it does, then you're right and it's the rear diff. Cost-effective test.:)

OrIoN 04-24-2007 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nomake Wan
Try putting the fuse into the FWD slot in the fuse box under the hood and see if that solves the "clunking from the rear" problem. If it does, then you're right and it's the rear diff. Cost-effective test.:)

Interesting... can I just pull a fuse for AWD and move it to a FWD location?

Hocrest 04-24-2007 09:07 PM

There's no AWD fuse but there are spare fuses in the underhood fuse box. The lid of the box is also labeled to let you know where to put the fuse for Front Wheel Drive.

But... Your rear diff and the rest of the driveline are still connected to the wheels, they will still spin when you are in FWD mode. Just keep this in mind when you do your diagnostics.

JaySVX 04-25-2007 05:51 AM