The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   oil change question (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=27233)

Jayahalasi 07-08-2005 09:42 PM

oil change question

Going to change my oil this weekend... I've Never done this before. I want to test out Mob1l's 15000 mile oil.

what viscosity of oil do i need to use
5w-30?

also what kind of oil filter should I get?

thanks sorry for being a "tard", I'm Just new to this stuff

Khalil 07-08-2005 09:59 PM

I allways use 10w-30.. When u goto the store, they should be able to tell you which filter you need, or there will be a book that can tell you.

Jayahalasi 07-08-2005 10:00 PM

I guess worse case scenario I can Take it off First and take it down there and match it up....

Still If anyone knows What kind lemme know

RedHotSVX 07-08-2005 10:46 PM

Oil Filter

I use Fram filter's on mine,along with Valvoline oil....10w-30.
The Fram # is 3593...go here to decide which 3593 filter you would like to use...http://www.fram.com/

914helo 07-08-2005 11:00 PM

Remember the SVX takes more oil than most cars so make sure your drip pan is large enough. ;) You don't want your pan to be full and to still have oil coming out (been there done that on a different car!)

ensteele 07-09-2005 12:24 AM

Oh yes, the good ol school of hard knocks! :D :D :D

alia176 07-09-2005 09:23 AM

Unless your engine has NO leaks, I wouldn't go over to synthetic just yet! As soon as you switch over to M1 synthetic, you're going to experience even more oil leaks. I'm a big fan of Puralotor or Mobile filters. I haven't use FRAM filters for any of my vehicles as of eight years or so. Just my opinion.

n00b on demand 07-09-2005 10:33 AM

mobile high mileage oil is good ****!

ensteele 07-09-2005 10:38 AM