The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Body work need some advice (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=22411)

TomsSVX 11-03-2004 02:02 PM

Body work need some advice

Now i am no novice to bondo and such, but this perplexes me. I bought an ebony 94lsi recently that needed some body work. I can do most of it w/ no problem. the one spot that worries me is the rear pass quarter panel. this includes the wheel well gas tank lid and wraps around to the back. I will post pics of the spot this weekend. Would it be a better idea to try and located a new quarter and install or is this an impossible task? i have yet to look deeply into what hold this together but i i will this weekend. So what i need to know is

Does the quarter panel come off?

Would it be a pretty simple job or require cutting and welding?

Should I try to cut away damaged areas and try to reshape it?

Any input is appreciated

Tim 11-03-2004 02:12 PM

The rear quarter panel is part of the unibody.

TomsSVX 11-03-2004 02:46 PM

i was hoping u wouldn't say that. well pics are in my locker. i will see what i can do

Earthworm 11-03-2004 03:33 PM

It can be replaced but it's not going to be an easy task.

http://www.subaru-svx.net/photos/fil...hworm/2113.jpg

TomsSVX 11-03-2004 07:33 PM

well that is going to be out of my expertice. I will try my hardest to fix it w/out tearing it apart too much. I was thinking more of a fiberglass repair than anything else, does this sound about right for anyone who has looked at the pic?

svxpert 11-03-2004 08:14 PM

the part number for the pass side quarter panel is: 51410PA080
still available. you talking around $399 from a dealer

TomsSVX 11-03-2004 08:37 PM

or 300 buz from subaruparts.com

thnx for ur help guys

Bxsvx 11-05-2004 09:26 PM