The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Tranny Advice (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24714)

Integrator 02-25-2005 08:36 PM

Tranny Advice

In a month or so I will be attempting the 5 speed swap in my newly acquired 92 LSi. I'm considering doing the swap myself which will in turn save enough money for me to paint the car this year also.

I am a mechanic apprentice with only a couple years experience and have yet to even change a clutch let alone do a tranny swap on jack stands but I feel that I could possibly accomplish this task with a little guidance.

I can't weld very well (now is the time to learn I guess) and I could get the whole swap completed in a town near me for under $3000.

Guess I'm just looking for some encouragement. I've been searching the forums for about a month now to get an idea of what I was getting into.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance.

wawazat?? 02-26-2005 07:34 AM

GIve it a shot

I look at it this way. Your tranny is shot, you're working towards becoming a mechanic (so you've got/are getting the aptitude and tools) and finally if all else fails, you can take it to the shop to complete the work.

Todd

SVX-FF 02-26-2005 09:56 AM

Go for it!!!

You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. All of my experence has been from hands on work. There is no better training for working on a car. You will learn a lot by doing it yourself and making the mistakes.
I would sugest that you get 6 ton jack stands only because of the higher height then 3 ton ones.

Best of luck, and remember we , the SVX community, are always here for ya. :)

Steve

mbtoloczko 02-26-2005 10:34 AM