The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   General SVX Babble (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   AMR coil over issue. (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=64928)

Andrew P. 09-09-2019 03:43 PM

AMR coil over issue.

2 Attachment(s)
I've had the AMR coil overs installed on my 92' for 4 years.
The car handles completely different and I like it.
However, this last weekend I noticed that the rubber part of the top mounts on the front coil overs are pretty deteriorated. I'm not feeling too safe about driving it again until I figure out how to fix it.
I've contacted Andy at AMR but I haven't heard back yet.
I'll attach the pics that I sent to him.
Any input is appreciated.

SVX_MY_BABY 09-10-2019 03:53 PM

Re: AMR coil over issue.

That is the top mount for the strut, which on an OEM is a separate part. I'm not a mechanic, but if memory serves me correctly you can replace it pretty easily. However you need a spring compressor to do it after the strut is removed from the car.

Andrew P. 09-11-2019 03:48 PM

Thanks for the input.
However the top mount that you see is a custom unit made by AMR not the stock part.
I have as of yet to get a response from AMR about a warranty replacement.
I should have been more direct with my question which is should I park it until I can get the parts to fix it? Or can I still drive it?

SVX_MY_BABY 09-12-2019 06:48 AM

As I mentioned earlier, I'm not a mechanic. But, it's my understanding that under normal driving a tear in the rubber of a top mount will not lead to catastrophic failure unless the pressure comes off of the strut. ie the wheel becomes airborne over a bump or similar. It will just get noisier and gradually deteriorate more.

Blacky 09-13-2019 04:49 AM

It's safe to drive. There's no way that rubber should have deteriorated like that already. Keep us informed of AMR's response, if you ever get one.:rolleyes: