The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Not Exactly SVX (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Digital Photo Size Options (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=31394)

svxcess 02-07-2006 10:03 AM

Digital Photo Size Options

I finally moved into the digital age with a Sony T-9 6 megapixel digital camera. This is the first pocket camera with image stabilization/steady shot and it takes awesome pictures.

It also gives me resizing options in the camera and I want to know the best size to put into my locker that gives me the sharpest photos, without taking a long time to load. here are my options:

6M = 2816x2112 pixels
3M = 2048x1536 pixels
1M = 1280x960 pixels
VGA (Email) = 640x480 pixels

I am new to this technology and know that many of the more experienced members have the answer.

Landshark 02-07-2006 10:11 AM

VGA - the other sizes will be frickin' huge.

Earthworm 02-07-2006 10:43 AM

My recommendation: Take all your shots at the highest setting on the camera then crop/resize on the computer until the file size <100kb.

Reason: sometimes you may not want the entire picture or would like to zoom in on a particular section of the shot. This way you get the best quality possible.

newsvx 02-07-2006 11:05 AM

Totally agree with Dave. Take the best shot you can to start with, and then zoom in on the pic (when viewing the at the "playback" setting), crop it (as Dave said) and then "save" THAT cropping of your pic in the VGA format, which is for e-mail. The other formats (especially at 6M) are, as Landshark said) really huge. This way, you will have a high definition photo and a low resolution one that will easily download to your locker and members will also be able to download the images to see them.

I have a Sony also, and I love it. My only problem is that is has SOOOO many settings!!

Hey, John, how about some good examples of the pics it takes....
Harry