The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Not Exactly SVX (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Anyone have or have driven a VW Passat? (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=40852)

momzsvx 09-21-2007 05:33 AM

Anyone have or have driven a VW Passat?

I need a four door vehicle as three kids in and out for school in an svx is not working out smoothly along with back packs. I must get rid of one of my svx’s and I am looking forward to trading one of mine along with a miniscule cash amount for a 99 or 2001 car. I had went to look at a 99 yesterday and the transmission needed replaced. I have no knowledge about these cars. I do like the looks of them for my price range. If anyone can enlighten me, I would appreciate it. :)

Speedklix 09-21-2007 05:49 AM

Having driven every trim level of every model VW made up to about 2005, i can claim the passat to be a decent car. avoid the ones with swing out cupholders if you plan to use them... what a mess! The base model is a turbo 4 which is awesome on gas compared to the rest of them.. until you load it with people anyway. the W8 is tons of fun, but would not recommend buying one to family peeps. The V6 models are really the best of all worlds. You can't beat on them, drive it like a benz (gentle). You'll be pleased with the power in the v6, nothing impressive but gets the job done. and if you get a 4motion, they are great in the snow but not much else (rain is ok, dirt meh, ice NO WAY). The stock breaks on all of them wear quick and leave the wheels a mess. I don't know what else to say really... don't even look at jettas, your kids will hate you when they get bigger. NO leg room, passats are much better in the back.

Landshark 09-21-2007 06:43 AM

if you like electrical problems, then its a fine choice. :tongue:

Manarius 09-21-2007 06:47 AM

If you like driving around junk - that's okay too :rolleyes: