The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Suspension (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Aftermarket Rear Swaybar - Aerospace Style. (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=54826)

Crazy_pilot 06-15-2010 03:26 PM

Aftermarket Rear Swaybar - Aerospace Style.

Finally got around to installing this in my car:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-..._2168150_n.jpg

It's the stock rear bar with several layers of carbon fiber wrapped around it, Energy urethane bushings, and OT's $20/20 min mod for the endlink bushings. Final diameter of the bar is between 26.5 and 28 mm.

Impressions: I doubt I've had as much of an effect as Nevin's 22mm bar, although I'd have to drive both to compare. The carbon may be stiff, but it's not that strong. The car drives nicely with this setup and the rear seems to have more grip through the corners. That said, I'm far from an expert and may be suffering from the butt-dyno complex.

A couple more shots:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-..._2740622_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-..._7758377_n.jpg

As far as I know this hasn't been done before. Possibly for good reason, there's a good chance the carbon will simply split apart under the twisting. Meh.

Wikedjuggalo 06-15-2010 04:20 PM

Re: Aftermarket Rear Swaybar - Aerospace Style.

I applaud you for attempting something new. Who knows maybe it will hold together?

NikFu S. 06-15-2010 05:00 PM

What was your cost?

Crazy_pilot 06-15-2010 06:44 PM

My cost... About $7000. But that includes a free tuition. I made it at school using surplus supplies.