The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   I'll ask it right this time... (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=19776)

Whoru465 07-06-2004 12:53 PM

I'll ask it right this time...

I know there are countless threads on Transmission cooling. However, there are a few questions who's answers have eluded me. Having searched for two days I can't find a general consensus for these two questions:

1. Is the Permacool ATF filter installed in series with the stock fliter? Or does one bypass the stock filter? I have heard mention of a bypass valve, yet the kit makes no mention of it.

2. When running the add-on B&M cooler, should it be placed in series before or after the stock cooler?

Any help would be really appreciated as I am new to SVX mania and I want to do things right. Thanks in advance.

-Mike

Mr. Pockets 07-06-2004 01:17 PM

Re: I'll ask it right this time...

Quote:

Originally posted by Whoru465
2. When running the add-on B&M cooler, should it be placed in series before or after the stock cooler?
You're either going to get tons of responses because there are so many different opinions, or you're going to get no responses because we're all tired of discussing the topic. :D

I took the stock cooler out of the loop entirely on my car. That way the ATF doesn't come in contact with the radiator at all. But if you really want to leave it in the loop, I'd connect it before the aftermarket cooler. The B&M will undoubtably cool better than the stock cooler, and placing the stock after the B&M just means you're going to heat it back up again.

It should be noted that I have no raw data to back this opinion up with, but then nobody else does, either. :p

dcarrb 07-06-2004 01:25 PM

Quote: