The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Group Buys (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   Bontrager Works 22mm rear sway bar kit (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=54454)

Nevin 05-05-2010 07:54 PM

Bontrager Works 22mm rear sway bar kit

Howdy everyone. Nevin here, with some wonderful news. I have been doing research and experimentation for the last two years on a larger rear sway bar for our beloved SVX. In stock conditions the car certainly handles well enough for it's weight, but I wanted something a little better.

With the help of fellow boardmember TomsSVX I think I have come up with something that is a cost-effective modification that will greatly enhance our car's handling dynamics. What it effectively does is reduces body roll in cornering which increases the rear tires' ability to help carry some of the load. By reducing load in the front, the car understeers less and is also more responsive in normal driving.

I wanted to test the bar on both extremes of suspension setups. My car's suspension is as stock as it comes, and I knew that tom had just about every other piece you could bolt-on to the car, so he was a logical choice when it came to experimentation.

Here's what Tom had to say about the bar:

Got the bar in this afternoon after doing a control run w/ the stock bar. I had already made the assumption that w/ the coilovers we would not see much difference in handling.... Well, I was wrong

The bar is painless to install if you know how to turn a wrench. I LOVE the fact that Nevin has chosen grease-able bushings as squeaky rear bushings are embarrasing.