The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   General SVX Babble (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   For G-Tech haters, racers, and people who want to dyno their SVX (who own an iPhone) (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=45760)

FlagstaffSVX 08-08-2008 03:18 AM

For G-Tech haters, racers, and people who want to dyno their SVX (who own an iPhone)

This was just too funny to not share with everyone (plus I'm studying for a Genetics final and need a break).

Many wannabe street racers know about the G-Tech. It's an accelerometer that calculates your horsepower, 0-60 times, etc, by the acceleration it feels in your car when you drive it. It costs about $150 and is commonly known to over estimate your car's ability, probably to make their customers feel better about their cars. They're marketed at people who don't have access to a real dynomometer, people who are frugal and don't want to pay for dyno runs, or street racing kiddies who want to brag about their car's horsepower.

Well, much to every G-Tech owner's chagrin, a $13 iPhone/iPod Touch application was recently released called Dynolicious that uses the accelerometer built in to those devices to do the exact same thing, only with a better user-interface in the form of a touch screen. Of course, you've got to own a $300 iPod Touch or even more expensive iPhone to buy the "only" $13 software, but it is more accurate and easier to use.

Sorry for the annoying video, but here is a guy testing it out.

http://gizmodo.com/5034542/13-iphone...ated-dynometer

JaySVX 08-08-2008 03:41 AM

Re: For G-Tech haters, racers, and people who want to dyno their SVX (who own an iPho

Interesting stuff. I know the iphone has those internal things going on, I didn't think it could be that accurate though.

odepaj 08-08-2008 04:37 PM

Re: For G-Tech haters, racers, and people who want to dyno their SVX (who own an iPho