The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   I can't belive I broke a timing belt!!!! (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=44964)

prtsguy 06-01-2008 10:25 PM

I can't belive I broke a timing belt!!!!

How much trouble am I in? When I tore it down I found ALL of the idler pulleys had seized and/or lost all of the ball bearings. I'm a former auto machinist and can do the valves if I need to but I'm not really looking forward to going that deep into the engine.sooo....... my question is are they notorious for bending valves?
as a footnote, I do perform my maintanance and such but the car had set for three years before I bought it and had low miles on a dealer installed engine. Don't think bad of me, please. It's just slipped by me.
It's a '94 awd with the 3.0

Tim 06-01-2008 10:31 PM

The EG33 is non-interference. You're fine. :)

lhopp77 06-01-2008 10:33 PM

No Problem

Quote:

Originally Posted by prtsguy (Post 550080)
How much trouble am I in? When I tore it down I found ALL of the idler pulleys had seized and/or lost all of the ball bearings. I'm a former auto machinist and can do the valves if I need to but I'm not really looking forward to going that deep into the engine.sooo....... my question is are they notorious for bending valves?
as a footnote, I do perform my maintanance and such but the car had set for three years before I bought it and had low miles on a dealer installed engine. Don't think bad of me, please. It's just slipped by me.
It's a '94 awd with the 3.0