The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   HELP!! SVX wont start (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=13980)

Jim SVX 10-24-2003 03:20 PM

HELP!! SVX wont start

I tried to start my SVX this morning and when I tured the key, it did absolutly nothing. The lights came on, but there was no sign of the starter trying to turn the motor. I tried jumping it, but that did nothing. What is the next step from here? Should I be looking at the starter, or is there another area I should be looking at. I am new to this car, so I am not aware of common problems with it. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Shot king 10-24-2003 03:39 PM

Have ya tryed cleanin the terminals yet? Alot of times theres enought juice for the lights and such to come one but not enough for the starter.

Aredubjay 10-24-2003 04:34 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Shot king
Have ya tryed cleanin the terminals yet? Alot of times theres enought juice for the lights and such to come one but not enough for the starter.
That was gonna be my suggestion also, Shot. I've had it happen in BOTH my SVXes.

After that, make sure your Gear Selector has engaged the safety switch and that you have put your foot on the brake before trying to start it (I forgot the engage the brake once, car didn't start, I freaked, until I realized what I had done -- or, hadn't done, for that matter). :)

SHISVX 10-24-2003 04:50 PM

i know this is weird, but i had the same thing happen to me. it was my battery. i even tried to jump start the thing and it didn't work, put a new battery and never had a problem....i know that is weird...hrm....long shot i guess...could it be the selinoid thingy? i had that problem with my ol' probe

Kelli

Shot king 10-24-2003 07:11 PM