The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   How low is too low (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=51395)

michael 08-23-2009 10:24 AM

How low is too low

I decided to start researching my future suspension and would like some opinions. I attached a photoshop of the approximate ride height I would like to have but I have little knowledge about suspension geometry and center of gravity bla, bla bla... I have heard that to maintain proper center of gravity while lowering a car the ball joints are supposed to be lowered the same amount as the body. To be honest I don't really want to get into doing it right. I would like to know how far I can lower the suspension without degrading handling, ride quality or tire wear. I especially don't want to downgrade from factory. Are Koni/GS's the only route I can take or is there a less expensive way.

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c1...sl/lowered.jpg

Hocrest 08-23-2009 10:51 AM

Re: How low is too low

Looks nice....

But one thing... Have you driven around Scranton much?? How about the driveway to your garage?? :lol:

There was a lengthy and detailed post in regards to the control arm angle a few years back. I did a quick search and couldn't find it. :(

michael 08-23-2009 11:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hocrest (Post 614831)
Looks nice....

But one thing... Have you driven around Scranton much?? How about the driveway to your garage?? :lol:

There was a lengthy and detailed post in regards to the control arm angle a few years back. I did a quick search and couldn't find it. :(

I lived here all my life, The trick is to drive in the oncoming lane or on the sidewalk.

-pothole ninja :D

Tim 08-23-2009 11:25 AM