The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   General SVX Babble (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   First Solo I event this sat!! (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10252)

Phast SVX 04-23-2003 10:43 AM

First Solo I event this sat!!

Well i have my first ever autocross this weekend at 151 speedway outside of sun prarie. Im really starting to get a bit nervous, as i have no experience whatsoever, im not expecting to win but dont want to look like a fool. any suggestions would be great!
phil

wasions 04-23-2003 11:31 AM

Since you said autocross, I'll assume you meant Solo II, and not Solo I. They are very different. Go the the SCCA site for an explanation of the differences.

Suggestions?
Go really, really fast!

:D

Actually, keep your head, and think smoooooooth .

Have a great time. I've watched SVX's run, but I've never run mine. :mad: :eek:

Paxton71 04-23-2003 11:43 AM

Advice on autocrossing

Take out your spare (what, you were going to change a flat during your run?)

LAUNCH the start. The faster you are going when you cross the start line, the better. After the finish SLOWDAHELLDOWN! The corner workers will get pissed and report you if you try to practice a few more hot corners.

Brake later than your butt-cheeks tell you to brake. You'll be amazed how this thing stops when you stand on 'em.

Have fun and TALK TO PEOPLE to learn quickly.

Did I mention have fun?

Mr. Pockets 04-23-2003 11:53 AM

Re: Advice on autocrossing

Quote:

Originally posted by Paxton71
Brake later than your butt-cheeks tell you to brake. You'll be amazed how this thing stops when you stand on 'em.
I absolutely agree. The car does have 4-channel anti-lock brakes, after all. Besides the obvious strain on the car (which you're putting on it anyway by autocrossing), there's no reason you can't use those ABS brakes on dry pavement.

Paxton71 04-23-2003 12:02 PM