The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   General SVX Babble (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Wheel Paint (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=41924)

Dominus 11-18-2007 08:03 AM

Wheel Paint

I was thinking about sprucing up my stock wheels with some paint. Nothing flashy. I just want them to look closer to the way they originally did. what kind of paint should I use and how should I go about this?

Turbone 11-18-2007 08:44 AM

I've used Krylon before on alloys, it seems to work well.
Just make sure you prep the surface good, or the paint will not stick for long.

CorSVXette 11-18-2007 10:08 AM

I am no expert but I think the colors were a little different in the later years so the color would be different depending on the year of your car. There was a post on this network somewhere about what paint to use. Give it a search.

Mike621 11-18-2007 01:08 PM

Have the wheels sandblasted and painted the lighter silver color offered after 94. IF you want to go another color all together, try for a lighter than stock color rather than a darker color

Guyver280z 11-20-2007 11:16 AM

I used the Duplicolor Wheel paint... you can find it at AutoZone and im very happy with it... The paint doest fade or fall apart... its been almost a year since I did my wheels and they still look perfect.

http://photo.ringo.com/224/224030321RL337937699.jpg

I also did my friend's Impreza RS2.5 wheels from silver to gold and they look great... I used Krylon for outdoors metal and so far they still look great.

Dominus 11-24-2007 09:18 AM

Those look kind of dark, Guyver. Did you want them that dark?

ensteele 11-24-2007 10:07 AM

All you would have to do is use a lighter silver color. Those do look a little dark, but you could use a lighter color. :)

The thread that was mentioned before was on the wheel caps, not wheels. :)

SVX_MY_BABY 11-25-2007 06:05 PM