The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Question about Sea Foam Cleaning ASAP! (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=32537)

Crysis 04-07-2006 03:06 PM

Question about Sea Foam Cleaning ASAP!

I was told to use Sea Foam to clean out my engine, but I dont exactly know what to pour it in. A memeber said to pour about a third of it into the big vacuum line on the back of the intake duct, but there seems to be alot of vacuum lines. Also, he said to pour a third into the vacuum line thats hooked to the end of the driver sides of the intake duct, and again Im not sure which one this is. I am new to working on cars so i dont want to pour it into the wrong line. Any help? Pictures please.
P.S. respond as quickly ASAP because I have my hood popped in my driveway as we speak :) Thanks

Budfreak 04-07-2006 03:12 PM

PM sent:);)

drivemusicnow 04-07-2006 03:29 PM

the key with a vaccuum line...is they "suck" air to the vaccuum source. which just happens to be your intake manifold. So any line coming out of the intake manifold, will infact work. Be sure to change your oil after you do this. I'd change the spark plugs as well, but thats not as neccesary.

Manarius 04-07-2006 03:55 PM

I wouldn't run it through the vacuum lines. The Intake has a special coating on it that can be eaten away by SeaFoam. Would be better to pour it in through the PCV valve.

drivemusicnow 04-07-2006 08:28 PM

... Tech?

where did this special coating come from, and how was it determined that seafoam "eats away" at it... unless its carbon based that seems like some misinformation... however I may just not be informed.

Manarius 04-07-2006 08:57 PM

See link: http://bbs.legacycentral.org/viewtop...=134493#134493

Myetball 04-07-2006 09:01 PM