The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Not Exactly SVX (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Looking for some recommendations/opinions (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=30615)

XCSkierFreak 01-02-2006 06:59 PM

Looking for some recommendations/opinions

live in WI, and go to school in Upper Michigan, I'd like a reliable car that would be fun to drive, but more importantly able to handle the more than 10 feet of snow Houghton gets every winter. I've already decided that I'm going to need a manual car with ABS and AWD. Right now I'm only seriously considering the Impreza or SVX because both seem like they'd fit the bill, aside from the lack of a 5spd in the stock SVX.

The only catch is that being a college student, I'm not made of money, so I'm looking to only spend $5000 at maximum, after everything's paid for. Ideally, I'd like to spend around $3500, but I'm not going to hold my breath on that at all. This may be a tad low for the SVX?

Is there any other cars I should look into that would satisfy my needs? I should mention I'm not planning on making a purchase until mid-June, I guess I'm jumping the gun a little bit.

Thanks for any replies.

immortal_suby 01-02-2006 07:54 PM

90's Legacy. Cheap, reliable, and love to be beat on.
Stay away from the svx until after you graduate - you don't need the hassle and expense of fixing one along with worrying about school.

Seraph 01-02-2006 08:24 PM

What matt davis said.

Landshark 01-02-2006 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by immortal_suby
90's Legacy. Cheap, reliable, and love to be beat on.
Stay away from the svx until after you graduate - you don't need the hassle and expense of fixing one along with worrying about school.

yep, but don't forget the Impreza's, too.

ensteele 01-02-2006 08:50 PM

Welcome to the site. I would echo the thoughts that were mentioned before. :) :)