The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Tranny can't find gear. (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25773)

colo-svx 04-26-2005 09:49 AM

Tranny can't find gear.

Hi everybody, board newbie here with a question.

My SVX has 125k on original tranny, so I figure I've been luckier than many. However with in the last month or so it started really searching for gears in drive . At road-speed(35-40) it constantly jumps between 2 and 3. and at highway-speed(50-65) constantly jumps between 3 and H. by constantly I mean a shift every 2 seconds or so.

Unfortunately I'm not in a financial position to get a tranny fix right now, I'm hoping to drag the car along another three months while saving some cash.

I can also manually undergear the car by putting it in 2 or 3, which forces the lower gear to run, and stops the shifting, but makes it run consistantly over 3500 RPM.

But I'm wondering if the increased RPM speed might be making extra heat, and causing more problems than the shifting does. Is either preferable, is either hurting my engine more(my enigine is perfect still, and I'm hoping it will stay that way until I get the cash to get the tranny fixed). Which is more likely to get me my 3 months driving 25 miles to work every day.

thanks,

shelfy 04-26-2005 10:05 AM

welcome to the forum, colo. i'm sorry i can't help you, but your problem sounded a lot like a former forum member's problem. i thought you might have purchased his car, but his had 140k miles when he traded it in to araphaoe hyundai in jan 2004. hopefully someone with more experience has some good news for you.

n00b on demand 04-26-2005 10:24 AM