The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   engine assembly questions (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=61436)

Crash_Bandit 03-15-2013 02:55 PM

engine assembly questions

So a few months back I picked up a very dirty project car (green 92) with a seized engine. I decided to splurge and got the engine rebuilt so now I've got a very pretty long block and I'm putting it back together. The fun part? I've never done this before.

I've got the factory service manual (92 and 96 updates) and parts books, and can follow directions just fine. But have run across some things that either confuse me or are outside the scope of the manual. So I'm hoping a few of you can help out with some dumb or not so dumb questions as I find them.

Question 1:
I have 2 throttle bodies and while cleaning them up noticed a tiny difference between them. They both have lines on top that have a P or R label that goes into each tube right where the throttle flaps are. On one TB the holes are just barely before the flaps, while the other TB has the holes just barely after the flaps.

Does this matter? Or is one of them correct?

Question 2:
I've got to replace the under dash heater core and probably the evaporator due to a critter nest. The car was converted from R12 to R134 at some point according to a sticker under the hood. I've got spare parts from another 92 but I don't know how to tell what coolant the spare evaporator uses. Both cases have the same part numbers (73060PA031).

Again, does it matter?

I'll try to add pictures later as my phone is annoying for posting.

icingdeath88 03-15-2013 03:17 PM

Re: engine assembly questions

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crash_Bandit (Post 721143)