PDA

View Full Version : Bontrager Works 22mm rear sway bar kit

Pages : [1] 2

Nevin
05-05-2010, 07:54 PM
Howdy everyone. Nevin here, with some wonderful news. I have been doing research and experimentation for the last two years on a larger rear sway bar for our beloved SVX. In stock conditions the car certainly handles well enough for it's weight, but I wanted something a little better.

With the help of fellow boardmember TomsSVX I think I have come up with something that is a cost-effective modification that will greatly enhance our car's handling dynamics. What it effectively does is reduces body roll in cornering which increases the rear tires' ability to help carry some of the load. By reducing load in the front, the car understeers less and is also more responsive in normal driving.

I wanted to test the bar on both extremes of suspension setups. My car's suspension is as stock as it comes, and I knew that tom had just about every other piece you could bolt-on to the car, so he was a logical choice when it came to experimentation.

Here's what Tom had to say about the bar:

Got the bar in this afternoon after doing a control run w/ the stock bar. I had already made the assumption that w/ the coilovers we would not see much difference in handling.... Well, I was wrong

The bar is painless to install if you know how to turn a wrench. I LOVE the fact that Nevin has chosen grease-able bushings as squeaky rear bushings are embarrasing.

Driving impressions, the rear is MUCH more planted through turns and turn-in. I can throw the car around w/ very little rear body roll and never break traction. Safely approach turns well over speed without worrying too much about the back end comming around and has also reduced some of the car's tendency to brake steer. Granted this is all dependent upon your tires but mine are sticking nicely in the rear now. WELL worth it mod!!

Tom