PDA

View Full Version : AEM Wideband sensors

redlinedeath
04-11-2010, 09:10 PM
how does the AEM wide band work, im a little confused, i was going to order through work (20%off, whoo!) in a few months, but dont know yet. will these replace the stock units? as in, will the stock computer read off of the new sensors, while giveing the reader an accurate reading? also, what about placement, are people using the dual channel sensor? or just one after the cat/y-pipe?

sorry, im a bit of a noob when it comes to engine management, im trying to learn, but have more questions than answers at this point!

Johnybeas
04-13-2010, 11:49 PM
+1 for how wideband sensors work, I tried asking one of my auto teachers and he kinda gave me a half assed bs answer that just confused me more... I'm still not sure how this works. I'll always be one to say I'll forever be forward about something I don't know, knowledge is power, share it if you have it, don't bs it if you don't ;)

dynomatt
04-14-2010, 03:57 AM
Wide band lambda meters can't run off your existing O2 sensors. The factory Subaru sensors are narrow band, and have too small a range and operate too slowly. They are really only good for running closed loop under very limited circumstances, defaulting to open loop more often. They are also known to cycle meaning they read rich-lean-rich-lean which isn't useful when you want ultra fast real time control.

Proper wide band lamda sensors will register much higher/lower mixture ranges and operate much faster. They sniff the exhaust gas measuring the amount of oxygen...because the ECU knows how much air (via the MAF) and fuel (via injector pulse length) it put in, it can reverse engineer the mixtures.