PDA

View Full Version : valvetrain options?

SVXMAN2001
12-28-2008, 07:54 AM
I am having the cylinder head of my eg33 cleaned up with a mild port and polish and was considering having the guy install a set of higher performance intake/exhaust valves and springs. I've searched through the site and could find only the set offered by mike (longassname), along with the camshafts, which are no longer separately available.

What performance intake/exhaust valves and springs are compatible with our stock hydraulic set up? Are there any compatible wrx parts?

I could be asking this competely wrong, meaning, I cannot consider what size intake/exhaust valves to get without knowing what sort of cam gears I'll be running, but I thought it i'd ask anyway as I am still a newbie when it comes to this...thanks. chris

YourConfused
12-28-2008, 08:08 AM
I think you could get allot of info by reading Rallybob's posts on here and nasioc.
From what I have gathered the cams offered by Ecutune are just a general higher performance cam that will improve performance of a na, turbo and supercharged motor. It can't be all 3 at the same time, but since you can't bbuy it separately anymore you should look into Delta cams for cams and head work.

This just what I have gathered from the info posted up here.
Good luck.

TomsSVX
12-28-2008, 08:45 AM
The valves are not like anything else. The WRX parts that people talk about are retro fitted. Longer valves, which mean the hydro lash adjusters go out the window and bucket and shim lash adjuster is used. This will help make up for the difference in valve height. Not to mention they use a totally different spring, which there are MANY aftermarket options available. You can also achieve more lift out of the custom cams by using the WRX components because the springs don't reach coil bind quite so soon. So ideally, if you were to keep the stock valves, you are restricting yourself greatly.

Tom

SVXMAN2001
12-28-2008, 09:50 AM