PDA

View Full Version : TURBOs!?

Sanosuke
11-23-2008, 04:14 PM
Ok, well, I am brand new to serious tuning and new to tuning the complicated platform of the SVX. My questions are much more than about turbos but why not start there?

Who has a turbo-ed SVX? What is your set up with it (twin, big, small, scroll, intercooled...)? What are the side affect modifications (injectors, rings, pistons, rods, crank, cams, valves/ seats, etc...)? What tranny is good (I hope to slap in an STi 6speed)? Any space issues? Mount issues? Issues in general? What is the highest boost anyone has run with an SVX? Do you know any sites I can read about race set ups on performance engines?

longassname
11-23-2008, 04:43 PM
There is one low boost turbo system on the network that works pretty well. phastsvx has it. There are a couple others that haven't quite suceeded yet.

They have all been single turbo systems with the turbo put in place of where the oe air hose is. It's tough to fit a high flowing hybrid there; you wouldn't be able to fit anything really big. A gt3076r would be sweet choice for that location.

A pair of smaller turbos could probably be fit more easily underneath the engine in the front corners. The smaller the easier the installation. You might manage to squeeze a pair of gt2871r turbos down there which would be good for huge power. More likely you could squeeze a pair of gt2860rs or any of the skyline turbos which are 25 series. Even easier than that would be a pair of small frame turbos. A pair of gt2259 turbos would do fine. If anyone would ever set their sites lower than a 1000hp dyno queen it could be done easily enough. ECUtune stage 2 engine management, a set of exhaust cams, and a pair of gt2259 turbos would probably give you a 500hp svx with little hassle though you might/probably would find you need lower compression pistons to boot.

Johnybeas
11-23-2008, 05:47 PM