PDA

View Full Version : Drilled or dimpled rotors?

svxash
10-20-2008, 05:42 PM
I'm looking at replacing the rotors on our SVX and came across both drilled and dimpled. I don't really want slotted rotors but drilled or dimpled would be nice. Is one better than the other?

ensteele
10-20-2008, 05:57 PM
Yes, the dimpled are better because they will not crack when stressed. The drilled have a better chance of cracking, so I would go the dimple drilled if you have the choice. :)

Nevin
11-01-2008, 11:15 PM
Drilled arguably disperse more heat, but the dimpled aren't nearly as prone to cracking. So, I suppose you'd get more life out of the dimpled ones...

svxfiles
11-02-2008, 07:50 AM
Both of the above statements are correct.:)
(I only use drilled in racing applications.)
Slotted rotors also help in cooling, but you can get either or both.
Tom

Sir. Nate
11-02-2008, 10:16 AM
I've been using drilled/slotted rotors for 6 months, and I'm showing no cracks so far. I've been on the brakes pretty hard more than a few times too.

svxash
11-02-2008, 11:30 AM
They will be for street use only. Do the drilled ones have problems with cracking under normal use or just when subjected to track use?

ensteele
11-02-2008, 12:49 PM
They will be for street use only. Do the drilled ones have problems with cracking under normal use or just when subjected to track use?

They can have problems cracking under normal use. I would use the dimple drilled instead of drilled. Slotted and the dimple drilled are the ones I have used on most of my cars and they are great. :)

Nevin
11-02-2008, 03:41 PM
I use drilled/slotted rotors on my SVX. After about 15 months, I can't find any cracks. It has never been used on the track and perhaps never will be, but brake upgrades are still very good ideas for the weekend rider even; as is the case in my car.