PDA

View Full Version : building custom exhaust

Merz
08-07-2006, 02:33 PM
Im planning on building a custom exhaust and am thinking of attempting to do it myself. I have a welder and pipe bender, but not a lot of experience with either. I am somewhat mechanically inclined. So i guess the question is, is this something i can do?

The system will consist of:

high flow 2 into 1 magnaflow cat
2.5 inch pipe
magnaflow 1 into 2 muffler.

If i cut off the old cat, will i be able to just weld the new one in place? or will i have to bend new pipes from the headers?

The muffler is 2.5 in, 2.25 out. Will i be able to attach the stock tips to the 2.25 inch pipe?

Thanks

Yoda3000
08-07-2006, 03:22 PM
I've been considering doing an exhaust too. I'm no expert either, but I'll look forward to see what these other guys say and how it turns out.

Nice job using the stock tips, I don't think there are any better.

Merz
08-07-2006, 03:38 PM
Yea i like the stock tips. and i already have them, so i cant really justify buying new ones. Unless of course the stock ones wont work.

I will post pictures and sound clips when im finished, If i decide to go through with it.

19svx94
08-12-2006, 04:15 AM
if flow has anything to do with your plans for exhaust, or at least anything you care about, you have to either modify the stock tips or get new ones, there are tiny pipes going into the tips, i am a huge fan of the stock look and since i didnt want to contradict my 3in catback with tiny tips, i came up with the genius idea of just painting some mild looking tips black with high temp header paint, the stuff is good up to 1200 degrees or something which will never be reached all the way at the tips, and i have never had anyone take a second look at the tips being anything other than stock, until i start the car :D

black beast
08-13-2006, 05:22 PM