PDA

View Full Version : Intake Idea

Myxalplyx
01-26-2006, 07:27 PM
Laugh if you must! I'm a newbie in this world of SVX but the intake of the SVX has been troubling me. All this talk about maf voltages maxing out, timing being retarded and high rpm power being robbed has got me thinking.

I've noticed that on other Subarus (My two XT6s as well as my RX Turbo [rest its soul]) has power dropping off at 5600rpm or so. This was always the case until the air flow was straightened out or opened up through intake/exhaust modifications. Here's one example of how my SVX, XT6 and RX turbo changes their hp slope at 5600rpm.

http://home.comcast.net/~thomasck/5600rpmDrops.jpg

I have no scientific data to back this up but I really do not like that intake design. It does not seem to support flow at high rpm. As a matter of fact it seems it may hinder flow by having the air come crashing on the sides of the 'torque box' attached to the dual throttle bodies.

I had a chance to stop by Vertex Industries (Now Verocious Motorsports) which is within 10 minutes of my house [Verocious Motorsports.com]. This is the same place I get all my piping and silicone hoses from. I talked to a guy name Tim there and explained the type of intake I needed. He stated he needed the 'engineer' to be there to measure things out to get things perfect. I believe the engineer's name is 'Tom'. He may be there tomorrow or sometime next week so I'll talk to him then. I definitely want to move forward with this and test it to see how it goes. Something inside me tells me it will make a BIG difference in mid and/or high range. I dunno, pretend I'm an idiot. Here's a rough (pre-school) scetch. Yeah, laugh away!

http://home.comcast.net/~thomasck/mini-SVXIntakeIdea.JPG